Baked Tortilla Chips

I wanted to make a non-Doritos based version of walking tacos. And after much internal debate over what kind of chips to use, I ultimately decided I would make my own. But, it’s friggin hot around here, so there was no way I was going to get a deep fryer going in my ventless kitchen in my non-central air apartment. So, baked tortilla chips.

tortillas. delicious and cheap.

1. Cut it: my favorite tortillas at the store cost $0.45 per pack. Each pack comes with 12 or so tortillas. I cut eat tortilla into six tortilla chips.

rows, pretty rows

2. bake it: set a cooling rack inside a baking sheet. Set the chips onto the cooling rack. Spray them with cooking spray. Flip them over and repeat. The chips don’t have to be lined up into neat rows, unless you’re neurotic.

first batch of chips

This recipe started out with a Rachael Ray recipe, and she says to bake the chips at 400 for 7 minutes. The first batch seemed pretty nice. But some of the chips just didn’t have the crunch I was looking for; some of the chips seemed stale or reminded me of the dried out part of the tortilla when you make enchiladas.

For the second batch, I tried 500 degrees for the same amount of time. This resulted in darker chips, but still had the same problem. Not that it was a bad problem. Some of the chips, however, got burned and ended up tasting like popcorn. Go figure.

fixins

3. eat it: to go with the chips, I cooked up some ground beef in chili powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and cumin. I diced up some tomatoes and shredded up some lettuce. The chips went on the bottom, the lettuce went on next, the meat goes on top of that. Then, you have sour cream, tomatoes, and shredded cheddar cheese, which is what I would consider traditional in the Walking Taco realm.

non-walking taco

This overgrown plate of nachos was quite tasty, even if the baked chips weren’t quite as phenomenal as deep fried chips. I ate two plates of it, as did my wife. My baby daughter (who doesn’t eat solid food yet) also tried to steal a couple chips. But, she will try to steal any kind of food that is anywhere near her reach.

I think the bake temperature and time needs a little bit of tweaking (likely because my oven is older than most people’s condos, so who knows how hot it actually is). But, once I can nail that down, I think I may be making chips like crazy. They have the potential to be as good as store-bought chips, but at a fraction of the cost.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

