Grilled Shrimp Pita Sandwiches

A meal inspired by our trip to San Diego, this was supposed to be grilled shrimp tacos. But, I forgot to buy tortillas, which turned out to be a very happy accident.

defrosting shrimp and soaking skewers

1. defrost it: I bought shrimp at Trader Joe’s. They only have frozen seafood, but I only buy frozen shrimp anyway. To defrost them, I soak them in water. And since I was going to skewer these to cook on the grill, I started soaking my skewers.

cutting the pizza dough, i mean, flatbreads

2. cut it: because I forgot to buy tortillas, I decided I would try and make some pita-ish flatbreads. My wife has been spending a small fortune on pitas and hummus, and it was something I had been meaning to try anyway. I used my regular pizza dough recipe but cut it in half. I took that dough, let it rest for about half an hour, and then cut it into four pieces.

roll it

3. roll it: I rolled each of the four pieces into a round about the size of a pita. And since I was going to grill the bread, I set each one between pieces of wax paper and stacked the four on a plate.

grilling orange peppers and bread

4. grill it: Get the grill nice and clean and hot. Put the flat breads directly on the grates. They don’t need a lot of time, and they won’t stick as long as you leave it alone long enough. If it’s sticking to the grill, you shouldn’t be touching it yet. Also, I sliced up some orange peppers to put in the tacos/pitas/flatbread sandwiches. I would have also put onions in there, but my wife is breastfeeding and my baby doesn’t like onions. True story.

grilling shrimp

4. grill it (shrimp): you only need the bread dough to cook just a little bit because you want it to remain soft and pliable. But once the bread is near done, get the shrimp on. After thawing the shrimp, I had marinated them in olive oil, salt, pepper, and lime juice. Then, I skewered them with my soaked skewers. Double skewering the shrimp makes them easier to manage on the grill.

shrimp, flatbread, tomatoes, sour cream, and lettuce

5. eat it: nothing in this meal requires all that much time on the grill, which is a bonus. I served these up taco style with shredded romaine and diced tomatoes. The sour cream was mixed with some garlic powder, lime juice, and paprika; it was super tasty. I wanted to drink it.

shrimp pita?

These were really quite nice. The flavors really worked well together. The only thing I didn’t like was that I only made two per person. My wife and I liked them so much, in fact, that we had the exact same meal the following day but non-grilled (baked the flatbreads in the oven and sautéed the shrimp on the stovetop). But the in-home version was far inferior to the grilled version, mostly because the bread, for some reason, tasted like pizza crust (but that is likely because I overcooked the dough in the oven but not on the grill).

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

