Hamburger Helped – Rigatoni

20120211-182108.jpg
With the new baby, finding the time to cook has been challenging. Let’s say it’s been an adjustment. A sleepy, sleepy adjustment. So this week, I only really had time to cook something fast for dinner.

20120211-182527.jpg

1. Sauce it: brown 1 pound ground beef or hamburger. Add 1 jar spaghetti sauce.

20120211-182845.jpg

2. Boil it: boil half a package of rigatoni. I have been loving rigatoni lately. I can’t get enough of it. Someday, I will figure out a way to make my own rigatoni. I just need a pasta extruded. Or a play dough fun factory.

20120211-183605.jpg

3. Cheese it: add the cooked rigatoni to the meat sauce. Mix it thoroughly to get the ground beef inside the pasta tubes. Remove from heat. Then add the cheese. I had about three quarters of a package of shredded Italian blend cheese.

When I was a kid, I was obsessed with hamburger helper. It was salty. It was cheesy. It was not-Korean food. And when I ate it, I felt like I was eating what the other, “normal” kids were eating for dinner.

This recipe reminded me of hamburger helper.

And it had the added benefit of still being easy enough to cook, even with a newborn in the house.

1 Comment

Filed under recipes

One response to “Hamburger Helped – Rigatoni

  1. This looks wonderful :D. I do love a good, simple pasta dish.

Leave a Reply

