Waffles and a Baby

20120122-080918.jpg
On January 11, 2012, my daughter was born. Since then, I haven’t thought much about food, except for waffles. For the first few nights, at some point around 4:30 in the morning or so, I would smell maple syrup, which would give me the instant and unignorable craving for waffles.

I got this recipe off of allrecipes.com, a website that I generally don’t like to use and find unorganized and too unedited. But, my waffles craving was intense, so I used the first recipe I could find.

1. Mix it (dry): 2C flour, 1t salt, 4t baking powder, 2T sugar.

2. Mix it (wet): melt 1/3C butter and microwave 1.5C milk for a minute or two. Mix those together. Beat in 2 eggs. And 0.5-1t vanilla. Also, preheat your waffle iron.

20120122-081926.jpg

3. Combine it: mix the wet into the dry or the other way around. The batter will be thick but still liquid-y.

20120122-081759.jpg

4. Ladle it: my waffle iron has a light that turns green when it is hot enough. Once it’s ready, spray the waffle iron with some cooking spray and ladle in some of the batter. It’s a little bit of guess and check to figure out how much to put in. Remember, the batter will spread a little bit as it cooks. With my small ladle, I use two ladlefuls. And I use the back of the ladle to try and spread the batter around before I close the lid.

20120122-082321.jpg

5. Repeat it: once the first waffle it done, take it out, spray some more cooking spray, and add more batter.

20120122-082541.jpg

6. Syrup it: my wife, who travels frequently for work, had brought home this vial of real maple syrup. We’d never used it, as I usually don’t find any need for maple syrup in my cooking. But these were waffles, and it was perfect.

20120122-082737.jpg

7. Eat it: these waffles were fantastic. Alton Brown defines a good waffle as being like a French fry. Crunchy on the outside, soft and puffy on the inside. These were just like that. My wife had hers with nutella, which is also quite fantastic. I never really had nutella growing up. It seemed to be one of those foods that only kids with rich parents got to eat.

20120122-083017.jpg

Whether with maple syrup or with nutella, the waffles certainly hit the spot. And after eating these, I stopped hallucinating that my baby was emitting a maple syrup aroma at 4:30 in the morning.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

