Leftovers Stir Fry

20120105-172607.jpg
Given the relative success of the rice dish from the night before, I wanted to have rice again the next night. I also happened to have a lot of leftovers and other ingredients that needed to be eaten soon. And so, stir fry (or really, fried rice, kinda).

20120105-172909.jpg
1. Set it: making the rice takes the longest. I put about 3/4C rice with 2C water in my rice maker. This particular rice maker is exceedingly old. And was brought to me by my mother, who personally couriered it to me when I lived in St. Louis when she flew in to visit from New Jersey. It is the second weirdest thing my mother has put in her carry-on luggage on my behalf.

20120105-173347.jpg

2. Heat it: Since I don’t have a wok or an oven that could get hot enough to really take advantage of the wok’s shape, it’s really all about surface area. My mother-in-law got me a 12-inch nonstick sauté pan for Christmas, and that would be perfect.

When it comes to non-stick, I really have no idea what the proper temperature should be. My mom always put the pans on high heat, so that’s what I do. But my non-stick pans all look like crap from the way I’m using them. So, this time, I put a touch of oil in this new non-stick and put it on medium-high for a while so it could build up heat a little more slowly.

20120105-173927.jpg

3. Sauté it: I had two small heads of broccoli that I cut up the florets. And then I peeled the skin of the stalk (my favorite part), and that went in too. As it cooked, I would add a little bit of soy and a little bit of rice wine vinegar at a time. If you out it in all at once, the soy sauce seems to burn. I ended up adding the liquid in about three batches, with a total of about a quarter cup of each ingredient.

20120105-174253.jpg

4. Reheat it: I shredded up the leftover duck that I had (maybe a third of a pound?), and added that once the broccoli started to soften. I added a dash of sesame oil because it’s delicious. And I wanted to add plum sauce or hoisin sauce because that’s what I think of when there’s Asian-ish duck. But I don’t have those sauces, so I used about 1-2T of Tonkatsu sauce, which I’m pretty sure is some derivative of plum and or hoisin sauce.

Keep stirring things around for a while to get the flavors to marry. If you wanted to make this a fried rice, you would add it now. Or, you could do what I did and serve it on top of rice

20120105-174806.jpg

The dish was really filling and was a good way to eat the leftover duck. Duck, as easy as it is to cook, always seems to be an ingredient that you need to cherish, so I was worried about blowing it. But, the duck and rice combination was a good one, and it makes me think that the next time I make duck, I will have to try and do it mushu style.

2 Comments

Filed under recipes

2 responses to “Leftovers Stir Fry

  1. If the rice cooker is the second weirdest thing, what was the first?

    • The weirdest thing was when she brought me kalbi – Korean marinated short ribs. She marinated the meat (about four or five pounds of it), froze it in baggies, pulled it from the freezer just before leaving for the airport, put the bags of frozen meat in her carry-on (because obviously, you wouldn’t want to check that), and then flew from EWR to Lambert Int’l. By the time she arrived, the meat was still cold but definitely thawing. I don’t know what she would have done had there been a flight delay. As an accomplice, she enlisted my then-high-school-age sister, who was mortified, understandably.

Leave a Reply

