Pulled Pork Ravioli

20111228-191959.jpg
My favorite thing to do with leftovers these days is to make raviolis. So when I made that organic pork shoulder roast, I knew I that they would make for some great leftovers.

20111228-192225.jpg

1. Dough it: make two batches of pasta. 2/3C semolina. 3/4C AP flour. 2T olive oil. Salt. 2 eggs. Here’s a longer write up.

2. Mix it: chop up some of the leftover pulled pork and mix it with some crushed tomatoes. I happened to have some leftover sauce from when I roasted the pork. You want about a half pound of pork for two servings and enough tomatoes to make the mixture moist.

3. Roll it: roll the pasta through your pasta machine. The machine has thickness settings from 1-7, 7 being the thickest. I roll mine to a 3. Cut the pasta into four long sheets.

20111228-193103.jpg

4. Scoop it: put a heaping teaspoon of filling onto each sheet. 8 heaps per sheet.

5. Cover it: lay a sheet on top of the filling. Use a lot of flour during the whole process. Otherwise, things will stick together and becomes unusable.

20111228-193230.jpg

6. Cut it: I have ravioli cutter now. I bought it amazon.com. Like everything else related to homemade pasta making, it looks ridiculous and makes you feel like an elf in santa’s toy factory.

20111228-193420.jpg

7. Press it: after you cut the ravioli, you have to pick up each one and press the air out. It’s like making mandoo. I’ve tried various ways of speeding up this process, but it seems like there’s no way around it.

8. Boil it: add to boiling water. This is fresh pasta, so it takes like thirty seconds.

9. Sauce it: I forgot to make a real sauce, so I heated up some olive oil with garlic, oregano, salt, and pepper.

20111228-193858.jpg

These were some of the best raviolis I had ever made. As much as I make fun of the tiny toy ravioli wheel, it does a great job at both of my two biggest ravioli concerns. It makes each ravioli look more identical. And, the cutting wheel presses the pasta sheets together, which helps seal the raviolis and prevents blowouts.

20111228-194304.jpg

The sauce left a little bit to be desired, but the rest of the dish was wonderful. Homemade pasta is delightful. And pork shoulder is one of absolute favorite things to eat. Combine the two, and it’s like manna from heaven.

4 Comments

Filed under recipes

4 responses to “Pulled Pork Ravioli

  1. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine
    Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good success. If you know of any please share.

    Thanks!

  2. After the meeting, the shutters were ordered and arrived in 4 weeks.
    They will also provide excellent ventilation, which is
    particularly useful in a kitchen environment, allowing steam and smoke from
    cooking to disperse. Bottom line; Shutters are the single hottest trend in
    Window Coverings today.

  3. Post writing is also a excitement, if you know then you can
    write if not it is difficult to write.

  4. Hey! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds
    me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have
    a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

