Cornbread Stuffing

cornbread stuffing

I needed to figure out something to do with some leftover biscuits and cornbread. And so, when I made the Becker Lane Organic pork shoulder roast the other night, I decided I would make some cornbread stuffing.

leftover baked goods

1. crumble it: take your leftover breads and break them apart into crumbs. I had three cheddar biscuits and three cornbread muffins, which my wife apparently didn’t know we had. Because when I told her what I used to make the stuffing, she said, “We had cornbread?”

crumbles

2. melt it: I needed to add some chicken stock, so I took one of my 1C frozen pucks of chicken stock and melted it in the microwave until it got warm.

3. chop it: mince about a half an onion.

ready to bake

4. bake it: add the onions and stock to the crumbs, mix, and stick it in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes. Cover with foil for the first 15. Uncover for the last 15.

roast pork shoulder with carrots and cornbread stuffing

5. eat it: I served this with roast pork. The cornbread came out wonderful. I was crispy on the outside and pleasantly mushy on the inside. The stuffing overall had little pockets of sweetness that was a little confusing at times, but that is likely from the cornbread muffins.

I had originally intended on adding some ground pork to the stuffing but forgot about it. My wife thinks this was a happy accident. If anything, I might add mushrooms next time and maybe a little extra salt and pepper.

While it is by no means as tasty as regular stuffing or even box stuffing, which I happen to particularly enjoy, it was a very nice side dish on this particular night. It complemented the roast pork perfectly, which I don’t think a traditional stuffing would have.

Plus, it was a nice way to use up some baked goods that likely would have gone bad by the next morning.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

