Cooking Fail – German Potato Pancakes

20111215-093358.jpg
After seeing how much my wife enjoyed them at the christkindlemarket, I wanted to make some at home. Unfortunately, it didn’t work out.

20111215-093854.jpg
I stared out with two russet potatoes and peeled them. I usually hate peeling potatoes. This was no exception.

20111215-094049.jpg
I needed to shred the potatoes, so I initially thought I would use my box grater. But I hate using that thing. Cleaning it is obnoxious. So, I used a mandolin.

20111215-094257.jpg
Unfortunately, of the six different blade options, none of them gave me a size shred that I wanted. Oh, well. Whatya gonna do.

20111215-094607.jpg
Then, I wanted to make a batter for the pancakes. Some recipes I researched just put the potatoes with some onions in a skillet. But the pancakes from the christkindlemarket had a distinct batter to them. So, I decided to add about a quarter cup of milk, quarter cup of flour, and a tablespoon of baking soda. This really didn’t work out. The batter ended up looking like olive oil based potato salad, which always sounds appetizing but also always disappoints.

20111215-095019.jpg
At this point, I started frying the potatoes. Some of them looked better than others. Most of them had undercooked batter, which made them mushy. I was not hoping for mushy.

20111215-095159.jpg
At the christkindlemarket, they served the potato pancakes with applesauce. And, since I’m fancy, we have walmart brand applesauce. Also, I heated up some sauerkraut because my wife loves warm sauerkraut. This was true even before she got pregnant, if you can believe that.

20111215-095327.jpg
I served these up with some weiner schnitzel. The potatoes were mushy and flavorless. If anything, they tasted like oil. Fortunately, the pork was really good.

2 Comments

Filed under cookingFail

2 responses to “Cooking Fail – German Potato Pancakes

  1. topper anti aging wares for 20 year oldsFor skin tissue paper you
    front for these ingredients and a dependable manufacturing business that continues
    your wellness and safety in brain? We look at the plus consequences such as drum sander
    appearing tegument that’s effulgent with a healthy incandescence. If you’re a woman implicated
    with crinkles, are seeming for Best Anti Getting On Products For 20 Year Olds.
    But don’t despair, tical 100 ml.

  2. Not the bleached sound reflections of vocalizations everyone this is Justin youthful.
    Come to put them on a waiter somewhither, so you can get the URL for them
    afterwards, which is what we’re going to put in here. The beautiful thing about photographs is a downloadable production so I’m only proceeding to shuffle this
    facebook likes for 5 gratuitous.

Leave a Reply

