Shrimp and Goat Cheese Enchiladas

20111014-083550.jpg
Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of cooking that happened to not leave any leftovers. The OCD eater in me loves this. Keeping the fridge free of leftovers or unused groceries makes me happy. However, the food hoarder in me loves having a fridge full of things that I could easily just pop in the oven, microwave or otherwise. It was time to indulge the food hoarder. Entonces, enchiladas.

Shrimp and Goat Cheese Enchiladas Recipe:
1. Dice it: a green pepper.

20111014-082502.jpg

2. Sauce it: a typical enchilada recipe asks you to put enchilada sauce in a bowl or sauce pot. Then, you dip tortillas into the heated sauce. I don’t like this step, as it seems to unnecessarily dirty another bowl. And since I do all the dishes, what I do is pour some sauce into a 9×13, which is something you’d have to do anyway. And then I coat each tortilla using the sauce in the dish.

20111014-082615.jpg

3. Sauté it: put the green pepper in a skillet with some oil. When the peppers soften, add in some shrimp.

20111014-082623.jpg

4. Mix it: set the peppers and shrimp in a bowl to cool. Then add half a package of shredded cheese. I usually get a Mexican blend, even though I’m not really sure what makes it Mexican. I also put in a container of goat cheese crumbles.

5. Dose it: dip the tortilla in the enchilada sauce and then dose out the shrimp and cheese mix.

20111014-082627.jpg

6. Roll it: roll the tortilla and the filling and set it in the corner of the dish, seam side down.

20111014-082632.jpg

7. Repeat it: keep rolling the rest of the enchiladas. I prefer to line them up in two rows of five. They fit better that way. I don’t know why every other recipe for enchiladas has you line them up differently.

20111014-082638.jpg

8. Cheese it: once you’ve got the enchiladas rolled, top with more green sauce and some cheese.

9. Bake it: cover with foil and bake for 10 minutes at 350. Then uncover and bake for another ten.

10. Eat it: these enchiladas are one of my wife’s favorite things to eat. They remind her of the seafood Veracruz from Chi Chi’s. I did not make that up.

They say that you’re not supposed to mix cheese and seafood. But this is the exception to the rule. Shrimp and goat cheese were made for each other. And there’s not better way to celebrate this forbidden union than in an enchilada. Because if you’re going to mix cheese and seafood, you might as well mix a lot of cheese with seafood.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

