Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

20111017-233625.jpg

I’ve been trying to commit a couple of key recipes to memory. Pizza dough, pasta, bread. These are all things that I feel like I should just be able to crank out without having to refer to the Internet. So I’ve been making them over and over again. Next on my list is: cookies.

20111017-233751.jpg

As always with baked goods, I referred to the Western Dubuque Marching Band Cook Book. The bonus part about this recipe is the fun fact regarding the Dubuque school district’s administrative history.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Recipe:

1. cream it: cream a stick of butter with 0.25C each of brown sugar and regular sugar. The regular recipe calls for much more of each, but I like to halve baking recipes when I can. It makes for a much more reasonable amount of sweets for the two of us in our household to eat.

2. Egg it: add in one egg (remember, this is a half batch, so only one egg). Beat the mixture.

3. Mix it: add a splash of vanilla extract, 0.75C flour, 0.5t baking soda, and 1C oatmeal. Mix it thoroughly with the hand mixer, but go slow. Otherwise, you’ll have flour everywhere.

4. Fold it: fold in half a bag of chips. The recipe calls for chocolate chips. But I put in half chocolate chips and half peanut butter chips. Fold it in until the chips are mixed in and evenly distributed. Try not to be too OCD about having it all all homogeneously heterogeneous.

5. Bake it: spoon out the batter onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. I was able to fit 12 cookies per sheet. Bake at 375 for ten minutes.

On America’s Test Kitchen, they tell you to never bake more than one sheet at a time. Has something to do with hot spots in your oven. I can’t really bake, so I just do it. On the second tray, I got 9 cookies, which bothered me. It seems inauspicious to bake an odd number of cookies.

These cookies turned out really good. I don’t particularly crave sweets, so I usually prefer a cookie of the oatmeal variety. And peanut butters one of my favorite flavors.

Plus, when I halved the recipe, I shorted the sugars. I think cookies are usually just too sweet. Which, whenever I say that, makes me feel like I’m a crabby old dude.

Overall, the cookies were delicious. And they hit the spot for what I was craving. They were a little on the bland side and heavy on the oatmeal, but perfect with a glass of milk that night (and with coffee the next morning). What I was looking for was something between a cookie and a granola bar. And thats exactly what this was.

After having tested out several different cookie recipes, I think this will probably be the one I try to memorize. Once I get this down, I figure I can always tweak or play with it.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes, WD Marching Band

Leave a Reply

