Orange Chicken

20111017-151434.jpg
I have been eating a lot of Panda Express lately. Sometimes, I just can’t help it. I’ve gone several times over the last couple of weeks, and it reminds me of law school. I know it’s terrible for me, so I decided I would try and make some orange chicken at home.

20111017-152557.jpg

Roast Orange Chicken Recipe:
1. Roast it: I didn’t feel like stir frying, so I decided to roast some chicken thighs, legs, and wings. This did not necessarily require that I butcher a chicken, but I butchered one anyway. Then, I set it in a skillet and prepared it according to my usual chicken roasting recipe. Sauté it to crisp the skin and then put it in the oven for a while. 400 for 30 minutes or so.

2. Juice it: for the orange sauce, I juiced two navel oranges. I know other kinds of oranges may provide more juice, but these are what I had on hand.

20111017-163023.jpg

3. Reduce it: When the chicken is done, set them on another plate to rest underneath some foil. Then, drain off most of the chicken fat and set it on a burner on medium. Add the juice, some soy sauce, a tiny bit of sesame oil, and whisk. Keep it on heat and keep stirring until it thickens. If my wife weren’t getting chronic pregnancy induced heartburn, I would have also added some pepper flakes.

20111017-163416.jpg

4. Eat it: my wife doesn’t like sauce on things, unless it’s barbecue, so I put about a third of the sauce in a bowl. I poured the rest over my chicken. I served this orange chicken with roasted carrots, which I have been loving lately. I also roasted up some fingerlings that we picked up at the farmers market. the carrots were lovely, and the fingerlings were like crispy mashed potato balls.

20111017-163640.jpg

Altogether, the dish worked pretty well. I was a little heavy on the sesame oil and soy, and I was looking for a lot more orange flavor. But, the chicken was quite nice, so I didn’t really care if the sauce somewhat missed the mark. And, at the end of the day, it was decent enough to fend off my panda express craving for at least a couple of days.

1 Comment

Filed under recipes

One response to “Orange Chicken

  1. Pingback: Chicken stock | cookingkos

Leave a Reply

