Bibim Myun

20111012-143745.jpg

I’m the world of instant noodles, there’s the kind that comes with soup, and then there’s the kind that don’t have soup. I generally hate the kind that don’t have soup. Bibim Myun was no exception.

20111012-143927.jpg

Last week, my wife went out to dinner with some of her friends, so I was cooking for 1. Whenever that happens, I instantly think about ramyun. Unfortunately, my ramyun stash is running low, and all I had left were the kind that don’t have soup. I hate these. The soup is half the reason to eat ramyun. And without it, it’s not nearly as satisfying nor filling.

20111012-144108.jpg

Cooking the noodles are pretty much exactly the same. Except that, once the noodles have cooked in the boiling water, you’re supposed to drain them. Having started my obsession with ramyun noodles at an early enough age where simply boiling something was a hassle, this made the soup-less style of Ramyun almost a non-starter. I mean, you eat ramyun because it’s quick, filling, and easy. Draining boiling water is not easy.

20111012-144258.jpg

One the noodles are drained, you then add the sauce packet to the noodles, and stir. That’s it.

20111012-144403.jpg

This particular ramyun tasted pretty much like gohchoo jang and sesame oil. It was pretty spicy and salty. The noodles were extra thin, and it all just tasted like mush. Spicy, spicy mush.

After I ate it, I was still hungry. So I made a second ramyun for myself. This second ramyun was also of the soup-less variety. I hoped that the second one would be better than the first and somehow redeem this ramyun category. But, it would soon turn out, I was wrong.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramyun

Leave a Reply

