Turkey Mushroom Ravioli


dishing out the filling

After the moderate success in using the pasta machine to roll out my pasta (angel hair pasta recipe) compared to using a rolling pin (butternut squash ravioli, taglietelle), I decided I would give the pasta machine a shot at making ravioli. And, with the fall weather approaching already here, I wanted to make a ravioli that really felt like fall.

Turkey Mushroom Ravioli Recipe:

1. dough it: the first step is to make the pasta dough. And after repeated attempts to try and avoid stocking yet another kind of flour in my minuscule city kitchen cupboard, I finally caved in and bought some semolina. I started out using 2 parts AP flour and 1 part semolina and mixed it with eggs, oil, and a pinch of salt.

AP flour and semolina

The semolina has a drastically different texture than AP flour, so measuring things out volumetrically was a little bit of a problem. I found myself  adding a lot of water to this pasta dough to keep it loose enough to work with. So, I will have to adjust the measurements for next time so that I don’t have to add so much water.

2. brown it: while the pasta dough rested, I browned up 1 pound of ground turkey, 6 finely diced mushrooms, and about one quarter of an onion.

3. mix it: after the meat was browned, I took it off the heat to let it cool. Once cooled, I added 1 egg and about a quarter cup of shredded asiago (I didn’t have any parmesan on hand). I mixed this together and let it cool some more.

4. roll it: I split up my double portion of pasta dough into about four pieces. From this point out, I worked with 1 piece of the pasta dough at a time until it became completed ravioli.

I rolled the pasta dough through the pasta machine repeatedly, gradually adjusting the rollers until the pasta got to my desired consistency. My pasta machine goes from 1 to 7, with 7 being the thickest. I sent the pasta through the machine several times at 7, two or three times at 5, and two times at 3.

6. fill it: by this point, the pasta was about as long as my big cutting board. I put a generous teaspoon of filling down for each ravioli. I was able to fit about 7 raviolis per strip of pasta. I folded the pasta over, pressed down the spaces between the filling, and cut the pasta into ravioli squares.

7. cook it: I boiled the raviolis in a big ol pot of water. And I paired it with an asiago cheese sauce (béchamel + asiago + pepper).

turkey mushroom ravioli

8. eat it: the pasta in these raviolis turned out pretty good, which convinces me now that using the pasta machine is indeed the way to go. And that is ok with me. With most foods I make at home, I really like the irregularity of made-from-scratch food. In contrast, with pastas, I am becoming quite obsessed with the idea of making it look like it came out of a play-dough fun factory.

play dough fun factory

Unlike the tasty pasta around the filling, the filling left quite a bit to be desired. I was going for something autumnal. But I think I went a little too far. And instead of autumnal, these tasty woodsy or even wood-y. Even though the sauce I used was cheesy and creamy, I felt like there was a certain something that was missing from the interior of the ravioli.

This batch of ravioli made enough for four servings. Two servings were eaten right away and the other two were put in the freezer. And before we headed out to a wedding last Sunday, I pulled the leftovers out and paired them with a quick tomato sauce. This was much better, as the tomato sauce was able to stand up to the earthiness of the ravioli fillings. But yet, it was still missing something.

I just don’t know what.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

