Fried Tomatoes

fried tomatoes

Work keeps getting in the way of eating. With back to back trials, I have hardly had time to eat, and when I have, it’s been McDonald’s. And after having eaten so many McChicken sandwiches in a row, I just had to eat a vegetarian meal. But I was still exhausted, so, you know, I also wanted fried food.

not-green tomatoes

Fried Tomatoes Recipe:

1. Slice it: you’ll need about 3 medium tomatoes for two people. slice them into 3/4 to 1″ disks or about 3 slices per tomato. My wife insisted that one needs to use green tomatoes to make this dish. But they do not have green tomatoes at Trader Joe’s. And the red tomatoes, one of my favorite things to eat, looked perfect.

2. Bread it: flour, egg wash, and then panko bread crumbs.

3. Fry it: put about 1/4 C canola or vegetable oil into a 10″ skillet. Set the heat to medium high. then add the breaded tomatoes in batches. You’ll have to play with the heat so that things don’t get too hot. But the nice thing about frying tomatoes is that you don’t really have to worry all that much about cooking thoroughness. You’re really only looking to make the breading nice and tasty looking.

frying the tomatoes in batches

4. Eat it: we ate this with a little side salad and some Trader Joe’s tater tots. I love tater tots. And for some reason, at Trader Joe’s, you can get an entire bag of them for $2. Yes, $2! I know, right?

fried tomatoes with tater tots and side salad

The crust on the outside adhered nicely to the tomatoes. But since the tomatoes were not green, the interior of the fried tomatoes were a little mushier than ideal. Nevertheless, they were a nice combination of flavors. The acid of the tomatoes cut the richness of the crust nicely, and it was a pleasure to eat and eat and eat the tomatoes until past the point of comfortable fullness, knowing that no matter how much I stuffed myself, it was still doing leagues better than with the fast food I had been living off of the past few weeks. Overall, the fried tomatoes were satisfying.

For a dipping sauce, I tried to make a remoulade, but I ended up with a mustardy mayo. It needs work, but it, alone with the several beers I had while making and eating dinner, got the job done on this particular evening.

But the best part of the evening was how my wife helped me to make this meal. It was the first time since she’s been pregnant that we’ve really cooked together. Lately, she’s been too exhausted with baby-building to help. Or, she’s been so obsessed with getting ground beef cooked faster that she’s started dinner before I would get home. Or, I’ve been too busy at work so we’ve had to order in. But on this night, we cooked together again, which was probably one of the better things to happen to me in a long time.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

