Brownies

brownies

My pregnant wife demanded chocolate brownies. Et voila.

I had to find a brownies recipe, fast. This one had a video to go with it.

Brownies Recipe:

1. Melt it: To start, I melted the chocolate. The recipe wanted me to melt the chocolate and butter in a double boiler. I didn’t feel like doing that. So, I put them in a bowl and in the microwave for 30 seconds at a time. In between nukes, I would swish things around. This would give the chocolate a chance to rest between heating sessions and raise the temperature more gradually. I kept repeating this until it became completely smooth.

We used mostly 60% cocoa and a little bit of 70% cocoa because that’s what we had lying around the house. In a perfect-for-pregnant-ladies-world, it would have been all 70%. And maybe some 80% (which I think gets too chalky).

les ingredients

2. Mix it: the recipe wanted you to then mix in things one at a time. Not sure why, but I didn’t have time to argue. The only thing I didn’t follow on the recipe was the salt. I didn’t add the salt.

mixing it

3. Lube it: I sprayed an 8×8 glass dish with non-stick spray. I also cut a piece of parchment paper to fit in the bottom. I didn’t really see why I needed to do this, and I particularly dislike cutting parchment paper. But I did it anyway.

4. Bake it: 350 for 25-30 minutes. Then let it cool. That’s the hard part because the whole house smells like deliciousness that you want to eat instantly.

let it cool

5. Eat it: this recipe is definitely pregnant lady approved. We used dark cocoa powder, so with the dark chocolate, it was really chocolatey – but in a way that only women seem to really appreciate. I cut the brownie pan into 16 pieces like the recipe said to do. The pieces seemed really small, so we each had two for dessert. With ice cream, it was so good that my wife made food noises. Mmmmm. But, after a while, it got really rich. Almost too rich.

a la mode

After that first night, we ate only 1 slice each at a time. Since there’s only two of us in the house (for now), the rest of the brownies took about a week to eat. But that was ok with my wife. She’d been craving brownies for quite a while, apparently.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

