Mikey’s Spaghetti in Meat Sauce

the beer was mine, not my wife's

Last week, my wife made spaghetti in meat sauce. And when I wrote about it, I said that she made this because I was really busy with work and didn’t have time to cook. This was only partially true, as I was, in fact, particularly busy. But my wife is also pregnant, which we are now far enough along with that we feel comfortable announcing. And spaghetti in meat sauce is one of her cravings.

For the 4th of July holiday, we were in Iowa. My niece was having a 2nd Birthday party, and we came back for the weekend to celebrate. We ended up getting to my wife’s parents’ house before her parents got off of work, but my pregnant wife needed to eat. So we cooked this up quick in my mother-in-law’s kitchen.

Mikey’s Spaghetti in Meat Sauce Recipe:

1. Brown it: 1 pound of ground beef. Normally, we use ground turkey. But with the pregnancy, she has been craving ground beef, specifically. It always strikes me as odd that they call it ground beef. Because whenever I look at it, it looks extruded.

2. Sauce it: add 1 jar of spaghetti sauce to the cooked beef. We used a really lean beef. Otherwise, I probably would have drained it before this step.

3. Cheese it: add two slices of American cheese. American cheese is a must for this particular recipe. This is something that I started doing about twenty years ago. It is probably my first recipe ever. I may have started doing this because I usually add a slice of American cheese whenever I eat Sapporo Ichiban.

mikeys spaghetti

4. Boil it: 1 pound spaghetti.

5. Eat it: my wife was skeptical that she would like this. The only times she normally likes American cheese is on a burger. But she enjoyed it. She commented that the cheese doesn’t really make it taste cheesy, but it does round out some of the acidity of the tomatoes in the spaghetti sauce. I think it makes it taste more like chef boyardee, a flavor profile I enjoyed at the time I started doing this.

I don’t think this is the way that we are going to always make our spaghetti, but it did seem to satisfy my wife’s pregnancy craving for that afternoon.

1 Comment

Filed under recipes

One response to “Mikey’s Spaghetti in Meat Sauce

  1. Pingback: We’re Pregnant! | cookingkos

Leave a Reply

