Chicken Meatballs

chicken meatballs

After what seemed like a long hiatus, I saw an episode of Chuck’s Day Off I hadn’t seen before. On that episode, Chuck made chicken meatballs. I thought I would give it a try. Because I like food arranged into rows.

Chicken Meatballs Recipe:

1. Chunk stuff: Everything was going to go into the food processor, but to give things a head start, I cut stuff into smaller pieces of stuff. Usually, I halve recipes because I like to cook for 2. But with meatballs, you can put extra into the freezer and save for a hungover day. I did make some modifications though: I used 1 pound chicken breasts, 1/2 red onion, 4 cloves garlic, and 1-2T olive oil.

2. Milk it: meatballs need bread and milk. I stirred up 0.5C dried breadcrumbs with 0.25C milk. Add that to the chunked stuff.

3. Blitz it: Put everything through the food processor. I have a woefully small one, so it took a couple of batches. Six batches, to be exact.

woefully small food processor

4. Ball it: once you’ve got everything essentially minced together, Chuck used a 1t scooper to make the meatballs, which is the main reason I wanted to try this dish. I like making meatballs, but it can be time consuming. Using the scooper made for really uniform meatball size, and it was a lot faster. I got like over 45 meatballs from this recipe. I used about 15 for dinner. The rest of them went straight into the freezer.

chicken meatball mix

5. Fry it: I put some duckfat into a hot skillet and put the meatballs in. The meatballs are pretty small, so once they looked browned all around, the meatballs were done. I like small meatballs because there is a better ratio of crusty outside and meatloaf-y inside.

emergency sauce

6. Eat it: We had this with some whole wheat spaghetti in alfredo sauce from a jar. I admit, as much as I enjoy making bechamels and other sauces, I typically have at least one jar of this stuff in our kitchen pretty much at all times. In my defense, I did heat up the sauce in the saucepan with the duckfat and chicken meatball fond in it.

But mostly, this evening was one of the reasons why I do keep over-processed jar sauces around. About halfway through dinner prep, a head cold started hitting me like a ton of bricks. By the time dinner was ready, I was wishing that I had made chicken soup, like Chuck’s chicken meatball recipe originally intended. I felt terrible.

Sitting down to eat this as a creamy spaghetti dish was good though. And I surprised about that because so much of this recipe seemed to be wrong. I felt like there should have been an egg in it. I felt like I should have rolled the meatballs in some additional breadcrumbs before cooking. I felt like there should have been some sort of additional seasonings, like garlic or cumin or paprika. But it was good without any of those things.

If anything, the meatballs were too onion-y. But because of that, they seemed to remind me of really good Chinese food, in a way. I kept trying to place what these reminded me of. They tasted like steamed shrimp dumplings at dim sum. But with chicken. And fried in duck fat.

chicken meatballs in creamy spaghetti

1 Comment

Filed under recipes

One response to “Chicken Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Orzo and Chicken Meatballs | cookingkos

Leave a Reply

