Salmon Cakes Benedict

Whenever we go to brunch, there is a high probability that my wife will order the benedict. And if there is a seafood benedict option, it’s a near certainty that she will get it. This was the inspiration for my take on this oven fried salmon recipe from the Western Dubuque Marching Band Cookbook

Western Dubuque Marching Band Cook Book

Salmon Cakes Benedict Recipe:

1. Parbake the salmon: The original recipe called for 15 oz of canned salmon. There are few things as unappealing to my wife as canned meat, and since I had already made her eat a canned ham for easter, I knew I had to start with fresh salmon.

I bought a pound of sockeye salmon, set it on a foil-lined baking sheet, and gave it a quick rub with oil, which served as a nice reminder to check for pin bones, of which there were a surprisingly large amount. After de-boning, I stuck it in the oven at 400 for 10 minutes.

2. Combine stuff: After the salmon does that initial bake, let it cool down for a couple minutes so that you can handle it comfortably with your hands. Remove it from the skin and drop it in a bowl with 1C breadcrumbs, 2 diced scallions, a beaten egg, the juice from half a lemon, and 1t worcestershire sauce. I had to go buy the worcestershire sauce, and I realized that I hadn’t had bought any in over a decade.

3. Mix stuff: using a fork or other suitable tool, mix everything. Be kinda gentle with this step. You want the fish to flake apart and mix up, but you still want large-ish flakes.

4. Ball and squish: Take a handful of the mixture and form it into a ball. Then, squish it into your hands to flatten it. The process is exactly the same as making hamburger patties, which I did for the first time in my life about a month ago, believe it or not.

Set the patties on a foil lined baking sheet. You may want to give the foil a quick spray of non-stick stuff. I intended to divide the mix into eight equally sized patties. But I ended up with 8 good patties and 1 additional smallish one. Go figure.

5. Bake: at 400 for 10 minutes.

6. Steam: greens beans.

7. Hollandaise: I use Ina Garten’s hollandaise technique, which is nice because it doesn’t require a double boiler. I also reduced down the recipe because I only needed so much hollandaise. (There is no bourbon required for this recipe. I just happened to be drinking some at the time of the photo).

Beat two eggs with the juice of the other half of the lemon that you used earlier. Add a dash of cayenne (or paprika, if you run out, as I did). Then, melt 6T of butter and drizzle it in slowly while whisking like a mad man.

8. Toast: english muffins. I would love to be able to make these from scratch. They are on the to-do list, but for today, I used store bought.

9. Poach: to make a true benedict, you need a poached egg.

I forgot to poach eggs and was too hungry to delay dinner to go back and do it. So we had them sans eggs. It was good anyway. The hollandaise ended up a little thinner than I would have wanted; I think I added too much lemon. But, I really like a lemony hollandaise, and if I had remembered to poach eggs as I had intended, I think the hollandaise would have been perfect.

The overall meal was a little on the bready side, but again, I think the egg would have solved that problem. We had a side salad, and the green beans were also given a drizzle of the hollandaise. The cake itself was quite tasty and satisfying. My wife kept asking if they were difficult to make and how long it took to make them. This, plus the fact that she asked for a third salmon cake benedict, makes me think that I will be making these frequently.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes, WD Marching Band

Leave a Reply

